Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
Food for thought in Bucharest

“Learn as if you were to live forever.” Mahatma Gandhi

Xavier Dolan's letter to Leonardo DiCaprio

 

 

Xavier Dolan (born on 20th March 1989), is a Canadian actor and filmmaker.

 


 

"I watched Titanic five times... You are a great actor and I admire you," an eight-year-old Xavier Dolan  once wrote in a letter to Leonardo DiCaprio, hopeful the star might one day shoot a movie in Dolan's hometown, Montreal. At the time, the French-Canadian director was a child actor who had done, as he sweetly mentions in his note, "a few commercials for a very known drug store chain." Fast forward 16 years, and Dolan has already directed a few movies that have all screened at very known film festival, Cannes: I killed My Mother, Heartbeats,  Laurence Anyways, and this year Mommy

Dolan's 2014 film Mommy  won the Jury Prize  in the main competition section at the 2014 Cannes Film Festival sharing it with Jean-Luc Godard's film Goodbye to Language . The Jury president at the 2014 festival was Jane Campion and, upon receiving the award, Dolan stated: "The Piano [Campion's film] was the first film that I watched that truly defined who I am ... It made me want to write films for beautiful women with soul and will and strength. To even stand on the same stage as you [Campion] is extraordinary.”

 

Here is the letter he wrote to Leonardo DiCaprio when he was 8 (to enlarge, click on the picture).

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post